Department of Mathematics

Dora Aksoy Award


Dora Aksoy got interested in mathematics during his high school years. Upon graduating from Robert College in 1979, he went to Caltech. However, he returned to Turkey due to health issues, and studied at the Department of Mathematics of Boğaziçi University during 1980-1983. After doing a Master's at the University of Michigan in 1984-1986, he started his doctoral studies on mathematics education at the University of Chicago. Concurrently, he became the editor of a book series to be used at the secondary school level which was planned to cover all mathematics topics. In 1992, Dora Aksoy lost the battle against cancer which he had been fighting for many years. With the initiative of his high school friends, his loved ones decided to give this award every year with the aim of keeping his memory alive as well as supporting young mathematicians who are devoted to mathematics like him. Starting from the year 1999, the list of the winners is given below with details:

Dora Aksoy Award Winner
University Accepting for PhD
Award Year
Muzaffer Akat Stanford University 1999
Barış Çoşkunüzer Caltech 1999
Erkan Nane Purdue University 2000
Murat Mut University of Minnesota 2001
Berkant Ustaoğlu University of Waterloo 2002
Mustafa Sabri Kılıç MIT 2003
Atilla Yılmaz NYU - Courant Institute 2003
Onur Gün NYU - Courant Institute 2004
Ali Göktürk Brown University 2005
Yasemin Kara Cornell University 2006
Sadık Görkem Özkaya Princeton University 2006
Bezirgan Veliyev Stanford University 2006
Elçim Elgün University of Waterloo 2007
Elif Kuz University of Maryland 2008
Mehmet Eren Kıral Brown University 2009
Seçkin Demirbaş University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign 2010
Levent Doğuş Sağun NYU - Courant Institute 2011
Jafar Jafarov Stanford University 2012
Beniada Shabani Stanford University 2012
Güher Çamlıyurt University of Southern California 2013
Alperen Yaşar Özdemir University of Southern California 2014
Arda Demirhan University of Illinois at Chicago 2015
Jumageldi Chariyev NYU - Courant Institute 2016